Service Interruption

29 March 2007

NSIDC Director Receives AAG Award

Roger Barry, Director of NSIDC and the World Data Center for Glaciology, is the first recipient of the new Francois Emile Matthes Award, given to recognize his accomplishments in the field of cryospheric science spanning fifty years.

The Cryospheric Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers (AAG) created the award in honor of Dr. Matthes, one of the organization's founders and a recognized cryospheric scientist. Barry will accept his reward at the AAG Annual Meeting on April 18, 2007, in San Francisco, California.

For more information on the award, and to read Barry's invited essay discussing some of his accomplishments over the past fifty years, please open the March 2006 Cold Trail Newsletter (PDF 276 KB). To learn about the AAG Cryospheric Specialty Group, visit; for details about the AAG and their Annual Meeting, visit

To arrange for an interview with Barry, please contact Stephanie Renfrow at or +1 303 492.1497.