About the DAAC

The NSIDC Distributed Active Archive Center (DAAC) processes, archives, documents, and distributes data from NASA's Earth Observing System (EOS) satellites, airborne campaigns, and field measurement programs. The NSIDC DAAC focuses on the cryosphere and related topics, including snow, sea ice, glaciers, ice sheets, frozen ground, soil moisture, and climate interactions.

The NSIDC DAAC is part of NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS). The DAACs, managed by NASA’s Earth Science Data and Information System Project (ESDIS), offer thousands of Earth system science data products and associated services to a wide community of users. Each DAAC serves one or more specific Earth science disciplines and provides its user community with data products, data information, user services, and tools unique to its particular science.


The NSIDC DAAC is a CoreTrustSeal certified Regular Member of the World Data System, an Interdisciplinary Body of the International Science Council (ISC; formerly ICSU). The NSIDC is one of 12 DAACs that form the network of organizations which the ESDIS Project represents as a Network Member of the WDS.

User Working Group

The NSIDC DAAC has a User Working Group (UWG) of scientists from the fields of research that the DAAC serves. The working group also includes the NASA Cryospheric Science Program Manager and the DAAC Scientist.

A formal Charter has not been written for the UWG. The UWG operates under the following terms of reference.

  • Reviewing the progress and performance of the DAAC relative to the NSIDC DAAC’s missions;
  • Representing the user community in the development and operation of the NSIDC DAAC products and services;
  • Suggesting specific data products and services to NASA and the NSIDC DAAC;
  • Providing input to NASA and NSIDC on the NSIDC DAAC objectives, priorities, target user communities, implementation approaches, and other issues.

Feedback may be sent to the UWG Chair, Dr. Lawrence Mudryk (lawrence.mudryk@canada.ca), or DAAC UWG Coordinator Amanda Leon (amanda.leon@colorado.edu) at the NSIDC DAAC.

Current Membership

Andy Aschwanden

University of Alaska, Geophysical Institute

Andrew Barrett

National Snow and Ice Data Center

Ludovic Brucker

NOAA STAR Satellite Oceanography and Climatology Division & US National Ice Center

Gina Henderson

United States Naval Academy

Jesse Johnson

University of Montana, Missoula

John S. Kimball

Flathead Lake Biological Station, Division of Biological Sciences, University of Montana

Fadji Zaouna Mania

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/USRA

Lawrence Mudryk, UWG Chair

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Kristin Poinar

University of Buffalo, Department of Geography

Mark Raleigh

Oregon State University, College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences

Nicole-Jeanne Schlegel

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Eric Sproles

Montana State University

Melinda Webster

University of Alaska Fairbanks

NASA Representatives

Thorsten Markus

NASA Cryospheric Science Program Manager

Jeanne Behnke