IICWG Home
iceberg

Overview

Meetings

Standing Committees

IICWG Business

Participating Agencies

Terms of Reference
and Charter

Related Links


NOAA@NSIDC Home

Meeting Participants, October 2000

These people participated in the second IICWG Meeting in Reykjavik, Iceland, on October 3 - 5, 2000. Names are listed, according to the Icelandic custom, in alphabetical order of first name! (Please note that most of the Icelandic names listed are spelled with the characteristic Icelandic letters and may not appear properly on your copy).

Arinbjörn Ólafsson
Hafmynd
Hólmasló_ 2
IS-101 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 5111091
Fax: +354 5111098
e-mail: hafmynd@hafmynd.is

Beatriz Lorenzo
Naval Glaciological Center
Hydrographic Service
Argentine Navy
Av. Montes de Oca 2124
C1270ABV Buenos Aires
Argentina
Fax: (54) 1143172309
e-mail: lorenzo@rina.ara.mil.ar or cnhsmara@rina.ara.mil.ar

Cheryl Bertoia
Director, Science and Applied Technology
National Ice Center
4251 Suitland Road
Washington, DC 20395-5120
USA
Tel: (301) 457-5314 ext. 302
Fax: (301) 457-5300
e-mail: bertoiac@natice.noaa.gov

David Grimes
Director General
Canadian Ice Service
4905 Dufferin Street
Downsview, Ontario M3H 5T4
Canada
Tel: (819) 997-0142
Fax: (819) 994-8864
e-mail: david.grimes@ec.gc.ca

Dean Flett
Remote Sensing Manager
Canadian Ice Service
373 Sussex Drive, E-3
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H3
Canada
Tel: (613) 947-8504
Fax: (613) 996-4218
e-mail: dean.flett@ec.gc.ca

Dennis M. Conlon
Group Leader, High Latitude Dynamics Program
Office of Naval Research, Code 322HL
800 North Quincy Street
Arlington VA 22217-5660
USA
Tel: (703) 696-4720
Fax: (703) 696-2710
e-mail: conlond@onr.navy.mil

Eiríkur Sigur_sson
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Sea Ice Research Division
Bústa_avegur 9
IS-150 Reykjavík
Tel: +354-5600600
Fax: +354-5528121
e-mail: eirikur@vedur.is

LCDR Eric J. Miller, USN
Operations Officer
National/Naval Ice Center
4251 Suitland Road
Washington, DC 20395
Tel: (301) 457-5303 x300
e-mail: millere@natice.noaa.gov

Erik Joachimsen
Sales Manager
Tromsö Satellite Station
N-9291 Tromsö
Norway
Tel: (47) 77600250
Fax: (47) 77600299
e-mail: erik@tss.no

Fiona Robertson
Superintendent, Ice Systems and Technologies
Fisheries and Oceans, Canada
Coast Guard, Icebreaking Program
200 Kent Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A OE6
Canada
Tel: (613) 998-1581
Fax: (613) 990-5541
e-mail: RobertsonF@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Florence Fetterer
NOAA Liaison
University of Colorado
National Snow and Ice Data Center
Campus Box 449
Boulder, CO 80309-0449
USA
Tel: (303) 492-4421
Fax: (303) 492-2468
e-mail: fetterer@nsidc.org

Frode Dinessen
Leader of the Operational Ice Service
Norwegian Meteorological Institute
Vervarslinga for Nord-Norge
9293 Tromsö
Norway
Tel: (47) 77684044
Fax: (47) 77689004
e-mail: frode.dinessen@dnmi.no

Gísli Gunnarsson
Professor of History
University of Iceland
Faculty of Humanities
Árnagar_ur vi_ Su_urgötu
IS-101 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 525 4415
Fax: +354 525 4242
e-mail: gisligu@hi.is

Halldór Björnsson
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Bústa_avegi 9
IS-150 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 5600600
Fax: + 354 5528121
e-mail: halldor@vedur.is

Hannu Grönvall
Head of the Finnish Ice Service
Finnish Institute of Marine Research
Lyypekinkuja 3 A
P.O. Box 33
FIN-00931, Helsinki
Finland
Tel: (358) 9 61394422
GSM. (358) 40-5635243
Fax: (358) 9 61394494
e-mail: Hannu_gronvall@fimr.fi

Helge Tangen
Director of Weather Service, Division of Northern Norway
Norwegian Meteorological Institute
Vervarslinga for Nord-Norge
9293 Tromsö
Norway
Tel: (47) 77684044
Fax: (47) 77689004
e-mail: helge.tangen@dnmi.no

Henrik Steen Andersen
Head of Ice Charting and Remote Sensing Division
Danish Meteorological Institute
Lyngbyvej 100
2100 Copenhagen OE
Denmark
Tel: (45) 39157340
Fax: (45) 39157300
e-mail: hsa@dmi.dk

Hé_inn Valdimarsson
Marine Research Institute
Skúlagata 4
P.O. Box 1390
IS-121 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 552 0240
Fax: + 354 562 3790
e-mail: hv@hafro.is

Hjalti Sigurjónsson
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Bústa_avegi 9
IS-150 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 5600600
Fax: +354 5528121
e-mail: hjaltis@vedur.is

Ingibjörg Jónsdóttir
Department of Geosciences
University of Iceland
A_albygging v/Su_urgötu
IS-101 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354-5254392
Fax: +354-5521331
e-mail: ij@hi.is

John Falkingham
Chief of Operations
Canadian Ice Service
373 Sussex Drive, E-3
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H3
Canada
Tel: (613) 996-4552
Fax: (613) 996-4218
e-mail: john.falkingham@ec.gc.ca

John Mortensen
Marine Research Institute
Skúlagata 4,
P.O. Box 1390
IS-121 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 552 0240
Fax:+354 562 3790
e-mail: johnm@hafro.is

Keld Q. Hansen
Head of Ice Charting
Danish Meterological Institute
Ice and Remote Sensing Division
Lyngbyvej 100
2100 Copenhagen OE
Denmark
Tel: (45) 39157344
Fax: (45) 39157300
e-mail: kqh@dmi.dk

CDR Kim Möller Petersen
Admiral Danish Fleet
Operations Section Ice Service
P.O. Box 483
8100 Aarhus C
Denmark
e-mail: bk4@sok.dk

Klaus Strübing
Head of German Ice Service
Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency
Bernhard-Nocht-Strasse 78
D-20359 Hamburg
Germany
Tel: (49) 40-3190 3120
Fax: (49) 40-3190 5032
e-mail: klaus.struebing@bsh.d400.de

Kristján Kristjánsson
Head of Science Division
The Icelandic Research Council
Laugavegi 13
IS-101 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 515 5800
Fax: +354 552 9814
e-mail: kristjank@rannis.is

Lars-Anders Breivik
Head, Remote Sensing Section
Norwegian Meteorological Institute
P.O. Box 43, Blindern
0313 Oslo
Norway
Tel: (47) 22963333
Fax: (47) 22696355
e-mail: l.a.breivik@dnmi.no

Lawson Brigham
Scott Polar Research Institute
Lensfield Road
Cambridge CB2 1ER
United Kingdom
Tel: 44-1-223-336540
Fax: 44-1-223-336549
e-mail: lwb20@cam.ac.uk
Carmel, CA, USA (home)
e-mail: lwb48@cal.com (home)

Leif Toudal Pedersen
Deputy Professor
Danish Center for Remote Sensing
Department of Electromagnetic Systems
DTU, Building 348
2800 Lyngby
Denmark
Tel: (45) 45253791
Fax: (45) 45931634
e-mail: ltp@emi.dtu.dk

Leifur _ór Leifsson
Hafmynd
Hólmasló_ 2
IS-101 Reykjavík
Tel: +354 5111091
Fax: +354 5111098
e-mail: hafmynd@hafmynd.is

Magnús Jónsson
Director
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Bústa_avegi 9
IS-150 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 5600600
Fax: +354 5528121
e-mail: magnusj@vedur.is

Martin Cerza
Office of Naval Research
International Field Office
223 Old Marleybone Rd.
London NW1 5TH
United Kingdom
Tel: (1) +44-20-7514-4508 (London)
Tel: (2) +44-18-6528-8764 (Oxford)
Fax: +44-20-7514-4924

Max Coon
Northwest Research Associates
P.O. Box 3027
Bellevue, WA 98009-3027
USA
Tel: (425) 644 9660 ext. 332
Fax: (425) 644 8422
e-mail: max@nwra.com

Michael Manore
Chief, Strategic Planning
Canadian Ice Service
373 Sussex Drive E-3
Ottawa, Ontario K1A OH3
Canada
Tel: (613) 943-5755
Fax: (613) 996-4218
e-mail: mike.manore@ec.gc.ca

Mikhail N. Krasnoperov
WMO Secretariat
7 bis, av. De la Paix
Case postale No 2300-CH-1211
Geneve 2
Switzerland
Tel:(+4122) 7308223
Fax:(+4122) 7308021
e-mail: krasnop@www.wmo.ch

Ólafur S. Ást_órsson
Marine Research Institute
Skúlagata 4,
P.O. Box 1390
IS-121 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 552 0240
Fax: +354 562 3790
e-mail: osa@hafro.is

Ólafur Rögnvaldsson
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Bústa_avegi 9
IS-150 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 5600600
Fax: +354 5528121
e-mail: olafurr@vedur.is

Páll Bergthórsson
Past Director
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Bygg_arenda 7
IS-108 Reykjavík
Iceland
e-mail: pallberg@isl.is

Rashpal S. Gill
Chief Adviser,
Ice Charting and Remote Sensing
Danish Meteorological Institute
Ice and Remote Sensing Division
Lyngbyvej 100
2100 Copenhagen OE
Denmark
Tel: (45) 39157342
Fax: (45) 39157300
e-mail: rsg@dmi.dk

CDR Robert L. Desh, USCG
U.S. Coast Guard International Ice Patrol
1082 Shennecossett Road
Groton CT 06340-6096
USA
Tel: (860) 441-2631
Fax: (860) 441-2773
e-mail: rdesh@rdc.uscg.mil

Selina Nauman
National Ice Center
4251 Suitland Road
Washington, D.C. 20395-5120
USA
Tel: (301) 457-5303 ext. 311
Fax: (301) 457-5300
e-mail: naumans@natice.noaa.gov

Sigthrudur Ármannsdóttir
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Sea Ice Research Division
Bústa_avegur 9
IS-150 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 5600600
Fax: +354 5528121
e-mail: sissu@vedur.is

Simon Chesworth
Radarsat International
23-27 South Street
2nd Fl.,Victoria House, Farnham
Surrey GU9 7QL
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0) 1252 727 940
Fax: +44 (0) 1252 718 380
e-mail: schesworth@rsi.ca

Siv Fri_leifsdóttir
Minister of the Environment
Department of the Environment
Umhverfisrá_uneytinu
Vonarstræti 4
IS-150 Reykjavík
Iceland
e-mail: siv@althingi.is

Sverrir Jensson, cand. scient.
Kleppsvegi 38
IS-105 Reykjavík
Iceland
e-mail: 6948351@tal.is

Timothy S. Stryker
Senior International Affairs Specialist/Senior Licensing Officer
NOAA/NESDIS International and Interagency Affairs
Silver Spring Metro Center 1
1315 East West Highway, Room 7311 (E/IA)
Silver Spring, MD 20910
USA
Tel: (301) 713-2024 ext. 205
Fax: (301) 713-2032
e-mail: timothy.stryker@noaa.gov

Thor Jakobsson
Project Manager, Sea Ice Research
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Sea Ice Research Division
Bustadavegur 9
IS-150 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354-5600600
Fax + 354-5528121
e-mail: thor@vedur.is

Trausti Jónsson
Icelandic Meteorological Office
Bústa_avegi 9
IS-150 Reykjavík
Iceland
Tel: +354 5600600
Fax: +354 5528121
e-mail: trausti@vedur.is

Unnsteinn Stefánsson
Professor Emeritus
University of Iceland
Home address:
Fannborg 5
IS-200 Kópavogur
Iceland

Vilbergur Magni Óskarsson
Icelandic Coast Guard
Seljavegi 32
IS-101 Reykjavík
Tel: +354 5112222
Fax: +354 5112244
e-mail: magni@lhg.is

Wayne Lumsden
Director
Canadian Ice Service
373 Sussex Drive, E-3
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H3
Canada
e-mail: wayne.lumsden@ec.gc.ca

Yuri Shcherbakov
Head of Laboratory
Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute
38 Bering Street
St. Petersburg 199397
Russia
Tel: +7 (812) 352-1043
Fax: +7 (812) 352-2688
e-mail: jas@aari.nw.ru

CDR Zdenka S. Willis, Director
National Ice Center
4251 Suitland Road
Washington, D.C. 20395-5120
USA
e-mail: willisz@natice.noaa.gov