A Workshop on Assessing Global Glacier Recession

16-18 March 2003
Sunday-Tuesday

A three-day workshop will be convened at NSIDC, with the aim of evaluating current methods of determining the worldwide recession of mountain glaciers over the last half-century or longer. Recent evidence suggests an acceleration of glacier mass loss in several key regions, and a more comprehensive evaluation of glacier changes is imperative in order to assess ice contributions to global sea level rise and the future of water resources from glacierized basins. The inadequacy of conventional field surveys, the declining number of glaciers being routinely monitored, and the current status of the World Glacier Inventory (which describes barely 44 percent of world glaciers with, in most cases, few specifics as to their characteristics) indicate the necessity for a new coordinated approach. 

The recent availability of high-resolution Landsat 7 and ASTER satellite images, along with new digital inventories of glaciers in the former Soviet Union and in China, combined with GIS techniques, offer one potential solution. The broader impacts of this workshop include bringing together experts from leading groups, as well as under-represented young and female scientists from North America and elsewhere. About 25-30 selected individuals will be funded, and the workshop will be open to other interested individuals by invitation. There is a training dimension in the planned demonstration of new GIS-based mapping techniques using ASTER imagery and digital databases. The publication of a workshop report in EOS, for example, will bring the ideas to a wide scientific audience, and recommendations will be fed into the Global Cryospheric Observing System (GCOS) strategy for terrestrial observations for climate that supports the U.N. Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) assessments.

Roger G. Barry
NSIDC Director

Sunday,
March 16

Boulder Inn, Conference Room
8:15-9:00 Continental Breakfast
Delivered by 7:45 am
9:00-9:15 Welcome: Roger Barry
The State of World Glaciers
9:15-9:35 Wilfried Haeberli
Challenges and Strategies for Worldwide Climate-Related Glacier Monitoring in the 21st Century
9:35-9:55 Mark Meier
Why are we here? Glacier Variations and Their Relation to Climate, Sea Level, and Everything
9:55-10:15 Mark Dyurgerov
Observational Evidence of Acceleration in Glacier Wastage: Uncertainty in Predication
10:15-10:30 Morning Coffee Break
10:30-10:50 Jon Ove Hagen
Glacier mass balance trends in Svalbard and Scandinavia
10:50-11:30 2-minute Poster Overviews
See List of Posters for Details.
11:30-12:00 Discussion and Working Group Organization
12:00-1:00 Lunch
See Menu for Details.
1:00-3:00 Discussion and Working Groups
Group #1 - Assessment of GCOS Glacier Variables and Identifying Gaps
Group #2 - Extending and Improving the World Glacier Inventory
Group #3 - Glacier Mapping Techniques
3:00-3:15 Afternoon Coffee Break
3:15-4:00 Discussion and Working Groups Continue
4:00-5:00 Brief Discussion Group Reports
6:30 Dinner at the Siamese Plate
Authentic Ancient Recipes from Thailand
Voted Best of Boulder 16 years
See Menus for Details.

MONDAY,
MARCH 17

Boulder Inn, Conference Room
8:15-9:00 Continental Breakfast
9:00-9:15 Welcome: Roger Barry
Glacier Mapping and Databases
9:15-9:35 Tanya Khromova
Glacier Mapping Based on Historical Data and ASTER Imagery: Prospects and Problems
9:35-9:55 Li Xin
Glacier Inventory of China and Glacier Change in the Penqu Area, Tibetan Plateau
9:55-10:15 Richard Williams
Satellite Image Atlas of Glaciers of the World
10:15-10:30 Morning Coffee Break
10:30-10:50 Jeff Kargel
GLIMS - Global Land Ice Measurements from Space
10:50-11:10 Dorothy Hall
Accuracy Assessment of Measuring Glacier Terminus Changes from Space
11:10-12:00 Bruce Raup
Demonstration of the GLIMS Database
Discussion Follows
12:00-1:00 Lunch
See Menus for Details.
1:00-3:00 Discussion and Working Groups
Group #1 - Assessment of GCOS Glacier Variables and Identifying Gaps
Group #2 - Extending and Improving the World Glacier Inventory
Group #3 - Glacier Mapping Techniques
3:00-3:15 Afternoon Coffee Break
3:15-5:15 Brief Discussion and Working Group Reports
6:30-8:30 Poster Session/Reception
See List of Posters and Menus for Details.

TUESDAY,
MARCH 17

Boulder Inn, Conference Room
8:15-9:00 Continental Breakfast
9:00-9:15 Welcome: Roger Barry
Critical Regions and Special Regional/National Problems
9:15-9:30 Short Reports
Anthony Arendt
9:30-9:45 Short Reports
Vladimir Aizen; others TBD
9:45-10:15 General Discussion
10:15-10:30 Morning Coffee Break
10:30-12:00 Discussion and Working Group Report Writing
Group #1 - Assessment of GCOS glacier variables and identifying gaps
Group #2 - Extending and Improving the World Glacier Inventory
Group #3 - Glacier Mapping Techniques
12:00-1:00 Lunch
See Menus for Details.
1:00-3:00 Plenary Session
3:00-3:15 Afternoon Coffee Break
3:15-4:00 Final Recommendations and Discussion
4:00 NSIDC Visit

Attendees List

Australia

Giovanna Lorenzin (giovannalorenzin@auslig.gov.au)

Canada

Graham Cogley (gcogley@trentu.ca)
Hester Jiskoot (hester.jiskoot@uleth.ca)
Simon Ommanney (int_glaciol_soc@compuserve.com)
Martin Sharp (martin.sharp@ualberta.ca)

Chile

Francisca Bown (fbown@glaciologia.cl)

China

Li Xin (lixin@ns.lzb.ac.cn)

France

Jean Pierre Dedieu (jean-pierre.dedieu@ujf-grenoble.fr)

India

Rajesh Kumar (rajeshbhu@yahoo.com)

Norway

Jon Ove Hagen (j.o.hagen@geografi.uio.no)

Switzerland

Wilfried Haeberlie (haeberli@geo.unizh.ch)

Russia

Tanya Khromova (tkhromova@hotmail.com)
Gennady Nosenko (nosenko@bues.ru)

USA

Vladimir Aizen (aizen@uidaho.edu)
Anthony Arendt (anthony.arendt@gi.alaska.edu)
Michael P. Bishop (bishop@data.dsc.unomaha.edu)
Mark Dyurgerov (Mark.Dyurgerov@colorado.edu)
Andrew Fountain (mailto:andrew@pdx.edu)
Dorothy K. Hall (dhall@ltpmail.gsfc.nasa.gov)
Jeff Kargel (jkargel@flaglink.com ("May not make it")
R.S. March (rsmarch@usgs.gov)
Mark F. Meier (Mark.Meier@Colorado.EDU)
Bruce Molnia (bmolnia@usgs.gov)
Richard Williams (rswilliams@usgs.gov)