User Support: User Working Group

Each NASA DAAC has a User Working Group (UWG) of scientists from the field of research that the DAAC serves. Each working group includes the DAAC Scientist, the appropriate NASA Program Scientist, and the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) Project Scientist.

According to their terms of reference, each User Working Group is to:

  • Provide ongoing guidance to the DAAC regarding data holdings, system capabilities, documentation, data formats, and communications procedures which serve the needs of the scientific community.
  • Recommend and implement a strategy for prioritization of data holdings and level of support to be provided by the DAAC to the user community.
  • Serve as a community representative testing ground to evaluate the effectiveness of procedures and protocols for surveying DAAC data holdings, and ordering and acquiring data sets in an efficient manner.

Feedback may be sent to the UWG Chair, Dr. Gina Henderson (, or DAAC UWG Coordinator Donna Scott ( at NSIDC.

Current Membership

Chris Derksen

Environment Canada, Climate Processes

Gina Henderson

United States Naval Academy

Jesse Johnson

University of Montana, Missoula

John S. Kimball

Flathead Lake Biological Station, Division of Biological Sciences, University of Montana

Nathan Kurtz NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Nettie LaBelle-Hamer
(ex officio)

Alaska Satellite Facility, Director

Ben Livneh University of Colorado, Boulder
Walt Meier
(ex officio)
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Anne Nolin Oregon State University

Axel Schweiger

Polar Science Center, University of Washington

Leigh Stearns

University of Kansas, Department of Geology

Nick Steiner The City College of New York, Earth and Atmospheric Science
NASA Representatives

Tom Wagner

NASA HQ Cryosphere Scientist

Jeanne Behnke


University of Colorado/NSIDC Representatives

Brian Johnson
DAAC Manager

National Snow and Ice Data Center

Amanda Leon
Deputy DAAC Manager

National Snow and Ice Data Center

Donna Scott
DAAC UWG Coordinator

National Snow and Ice Data Center

Mark Serreze
NSIDC Director

National Snow and Ice Data Center

Ted Scambos
DAAC Scientist

National Snow and Ice Data Center DAAC


The NSIDC DAAC UWG was formerly the Polar DAAC User Working Group (PoDAG) that served the NSIDC DAAC. PoDAG previously served the Alaska Satellite Facility DAAC. The ASF DAAC Manager and DAAC Scientist continue to participate in the NSIDC DAAC UWG, and the NSIDC DAAC Manager and DAAC Scientist participate in the ASF DAAC User Working Group.